Volunteer Spotlight – Dimitri Ingram

Summer is abuzz at UCP-OC with volunteers who commit their free time to helping children with disabilities live a Life Without Limits, and college student Dimitri Ingram spent 3 days per week for 2 months dedicated to promoting our Steptember Wellness Challenge, which starts tomorrow, and helping with Bike Camp. When asked about his favorite experiences, Dimitri said he really loved every minute at UCP-OC but will never forget Bike Camp, and one camper in particular, Steven. Here’s Dimitri’s experience in his own words:

Picture1
Steven’s proud smile after self starting!

“My name is Dimitri Ingram. I have had the pleasure of volunteering at the UCPOC all summer. I really love working at the UCPOC because the feeling of knowing you are doing everything possible to help children with developmental disabilities is so rewarding. The highlight of my experience is helping out at Bike Camp 2015. I remember working very hard one session with Steven. I wanted him to be able to self start. So I showed him how and then had him try. He had difficulty doing it. He was so close and I was jumping around so excited telling him that he was so close and saying that he could do it. He kept trying and trying but to no avail. So eventually I let him go get some water and take a break. Two minutes left until the end of session, I told him that I wasn’t giving up on him and told him we have to try it one more time. Steven got on the bike and after pushing his feet off the ground 3 times, I shouted, “Get on the peddles!” Everyone in the parking structure held their breath at that moment. Steven lifted his feet up, caught the peddles underneath them and started peddling! Everyone cheered louder than ever before. I cheered so loudly and jumped into the air so high that my keys went flying across the parking structure! When he finished, I gave him the biggest hug I have ever given. Steven worked so hard and I am so proud of him!”

We’re proud of you too, Dimitri. Thanks for all your hard work this year!

For those who want to know more about Steptember. September 2-29, thousands of people from around the world will Step Up their fitness to raise awareness and funds for vital programs for children and adults living with disabilities and their families.

The average office worker only takes about 3,000 steps per day – not enough to keep us as healthy and active as we should be – so each participant will challenge themselves to take 10,000 steps per day and share their participation with family and friends. Ready to Step Up too? Visit www.steptember.us and register your team or make a donation. Make sure to choose UCP of Orange County so your commitment changes lives right here in our community.

Picture1

Leave a Reply

