Life’s a Journey With CP and Me

katyfd-225x300Hi Everyone,

Wow, it certainly has been awhile since I have blogged for UCP-OC! I am happy that things have slowed down for me a bit, so I can share with you all, what I have been up to this summer.

I just finished my sophomore year of college at Soka University, here in Orange County. It was a busy semester, but I enjoyed it so much and I am proud of what I have accomplished. I haven’t blogged in a few months for UCP because I have been recovering from surgery since the end of my semester, too! Due to the imbalance of my body and pressure on my feet from having CP, I’ve been dealing with stress fractures in both of my feet over the past year. Two surgeries later,  I am happy to say I am healing, walking again, and on the road to make a full recovery! It’s been a stressful journey, but as a result, I am much more in-tune with my body and I am focusing on doing more physical therapy, strength training, and yoga to get back to where I was before my injuries.

I also have been able to volunteer more at UCP-OC! Alongside UCP-OC’s Marketing and Development Coordinator, Elizabeth Eckman, I am helping to promote the World CP Challenge, a 4-week fun and interactive fundraiser that supports our very own center right here in Irvine! There will be more information to follow in the coming weeks, but if you are interested please email myself at kfetters@ucp-oc.org or Elizabeth at eeckman@ucp-oc.org  and take a moment to check out their website here: www.worldcpchallenge.org/ucpoc.

Summer time is busy with internships for college students, and I started my summer off with a part-time internship with a music production company in Venice, CA called Mophonics Music and Sound. It’s been fun getting to experience a new environment and change of atmosphere from the quiet of the suburbs here. I am able to sit in on most production calls and talk with music composers and songwriters about their work with ad agencies or even aspiring musicians and bands. This company works to provide their clientele with original and fun music to any type of commercial or movie reel that needs some creative voice behind it. I’ve always enjoyed writing and music, so to combine and pursue my love of both behind such a talented group of people would be so exciting!

I hope you all had a fun and safe 4th of July, and please enjoy the rest of this beautiful summer month! Thanks everyone!

-Katy

———

For those of you who don’t know me, My name is Katy Fetters and I have cerebral palsy on the left side of my body… and I am also the creator of TeenCP! (www.teencerebralpalsy.com) TeenCP is a blog that has become a great resource over the past four years for teens and young people with cerebral palsy to connect and find the support that they may not find otherwise find. If you haven’t already “liked” the page on Facebook, be sure to type in TeenCP and find us there, too!

Leave a Reply

