Life’s a Journey With CP and Me: National Siblings Day

katyfd-225x300Hi All,

I hope you are all enjoying your week so far, in commemoration of National Sibling Day (earlier this week) I am going to talk about having siblings and what that means to me and CP. I have an identical twin sister, Sara, an older brother, Matt, and a younger sister, Daisy. None of whom have CP—but all of whom fully understand what growing up with CP has been like, just from an outer perspective!

I truly believe that my upbringing as a child has allowed me to be who I am today. With the help of my sibling, my confidence went unshaken, and my fear of judgment drifted away. With the help of my siblings, I was happy and my dream of normalcy came true. However, as children, none of us really knew what CP was. We were too busy playing at our neighborhood park or teaching each other how to ride a bike so we could all keep up with the other kids. I didn’t learn how to ride a bike almost three years later than my twin! But at the time, we all just accepted the fact that “Katy just takes longer to do things with her legs.” It was never something I mentally let slow me down, because my siblings never treated me any differently. As far as I remember they knew that I was slower and less coordinated, but it was just a fact and nothing beyond that at the time. I am so grateful for that, in hindsight. Even up into high school, my siblings and I always did things together and my CP was never an issue that separated me, from them. Whether it was playing soccer or just hanging out and riding our bikes to the beach—I did everything just the same, but at a different pace and that was easily understood by all. I am lucky that my family and I are so close that we have been able to grow up with this special bond, and I think that my CP has made us closer, in a way. Sara and my brother, Matt always looked out for me; they were my “protectors” at school and when we were running around being kids. 

In an interview with a UCI college student, Irene Sanchez, Sara remembers: “When I think about growing up with my sister Katy, I think back to us always being together and riding our bikes to school or finding each other when we were apart because I always felt the need to be with her and to make sure she was ok.”

I always felt that, and still do. Whenever we cross a street Sara still makes sure I am beside her, just like she did when we were little on the school bus every morning! I remember one time, my brother Matt saved me from falling off the side of a moving escalator! Whenever we went on family hikes he always stayed behind me in case he had to grab my arm, as I often stumbled around on the loose gravel. I always felt that Daisy is patient with my CP and she understands how it effects me, both physically and emotionally. It is that kind of understanding and protection that I have been blessed with, and the fact that I never had to ask for it makes me all the more thankful for my amazing siblings. To this day, Sara, Matt, Daisy, and I remain the best of friends and we will always be loyal to one another as we continue to grow up and create our separate lives. Needless to say we all love each other very much and are all a part of one another in so many ways.  That is what my siblings mean to me and my CP as I have grown from a small child into the person I am today!

Katy siblings

Leave a Reply

