Life’s a Journey With CP and Me

Hello everyone at UCP-OC!

What a month this has been, college really is such a whirlwind! Thankfully, I’ve kept myself busy planning an event here at Soka University in Aliso Viejo. Tomorrow night, there is a campus-wide movie showing of Beyond Limits that I am hosting alongside the Humanism in Action Club! For those of you who aren’t already familiar with Beyond Limits, it is a short documentary about Bonner Paddock, a man with Cerebral Palsy from OC and his daring climb to Mt. Kilimanjaro in 2008. The Life Without Limits Center is actually featured in the film as part of the main focus for Bonner’s motivation to climb Mt, Kili, pretty neat, huh? I am showing the film in order to bring awareness and support to centers like UCP-OC, and simply for fun…I think it will be a great way to meet people on campus, and share a bit about my own story and what it is like to have CP. I am kind of nervous, being the only freshman and all really trying something new like this, but I know once I get up there with a few others, I will be okay. 🙂

After the showing, we are going to raffle off a few posters and DVD’s and have a Q&A session with Bonner himself! I am so glad he can attend, because I think he’ll help really share more about our cause in supporting children with disabilities. Not only that, but it’s not often the star of a cool movie attends small events like these, so I am hoping we will have a good turn out! There are only about 450 students on campus right now, so it can’t really get more personal than that.

Also, the Soka HIA club is going to go to the Friday Night Club for Teens with Disabilities on December 2nd at the Life without Limits Center, so we are going to see if more people want to join us and even work on more projects for raising awareness (and maybe some money too!) for this cause. I am super excited to hang out with some cool teens, and get Soka involved as well! I think it is great to make new friends, and meet people from all different kinds of backgrounds. 🙂

So that’s the latest scoop on everything a college girl with CP is doing. I hope you all have a great Thanksgiving and holiday season!

-Katy

Leave a Reply

