Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Summer has officially arrived and things are changing here at UCP-OC! We have two new employees (one being me) and a desire to really get to know you! (our lovely families at UCP-OC)

So as we get to know you, its only fair you learn a little more about me! I wrote a little blurb a few months ago, but my name is Elizabeth and I was the intern here but now I am a full-time employee! I  graduated from Azusa Pacific University and I’m eager to learn about all of you. I love making pizzas from scratch (prosciutto and arugula is my personal favorite), I am a huge cupcake fan and love the fireworks at Disneyland! I am from good ol’ Huntington Beach, but big surprise I have an irrational fear of waves and therefore don’t surf. Last but not least, I LOVE taking pictures on my iPhone and sharing them. Here are just a couple pictures of the things I love (taken on my iPhone of course) :]

 

My hope is to give you information about things going on inside as well as outside UCP-OC, let you learn a little bit more about the families that come here through focusing on one child a month, as well as just creating conversations. I love the word community; a social group of any size whose members reside in a specific locality, share government, and often have a common cultural and historical heritage. I think we have the potential to create a great community through our passion for children with special needs. I really want this blog to be a place where information is given, but also where questions are answered!!

Here is how we create community!

  • Talk to us on Facebook! Give us ideas of what you want to hear from us, what you love at UCP-OC, something funny your child did that day or how we can serve you better! A good story makes my day so I would love to hear some!
  • Email me at ewylie@ucp-oc.org if you would like your child to be our child of the month! It could be a great way to give you family and friends the opportunity to learn what is going on in your child’s life.
  • Send us pictures of your child in action that we can share with everyone else!
  • Comment on a blog post! Maybe you have a personal experience or have tried something we are writing about. Let us know what you think!

Life is meant to be shared and that’s what I want to do! So nice to meet you and I can’t wait to hear from you! I think Mr. Rogers says it perfectly, “Won’t  you be my neighbor?”

Cheers,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

